#10 – Japandroids: Post-Nothing

Japandroids have a particular goal in mind that works very well for them: make noise…a lot of it. These Vancouver natives have that much in common with other “noise rock” bands such as No Age and Wavves, but they define their own sound along the way.
The duo, guitarist Brian King and David Prowse on the drum kit, released their much-anticipated and critically acclaimed debut album, Post-Nothing, this past April in Canada by ways of Unfamiliar Records, and it also saw it’s proper release worldwide a few months later on Champaign’s own Polyvinyl Records. Don’t worry–I think the rest of Earth got the memo: this album was something to recognize right away. The band’s debut record flies by, only consisting of eight tracks and a thirty-five minute lifespan, but it lives those minutes to the fullest. When you press play at the beginning of this fuzz infested record, highlighted by “Young Hearts Spark Fire”, there’s no denying that these guys lit the whole world on fire.
The two band mates grace the cover of the all black and white album cover, which conceptualizes what the band is about. The simplistic band composition of a beaten up drum set, a growling guitar and some sweat to fall down on the stage and instruments. Then again, they create the sound of something much bigger. Rocking out with your friends or hoping that girl will finally turn your way, as we can hear the message in very few lyrics in album closer “I Quit Girls” and the opener “The Boys Are Leaving Town” and most places in between. Japandroids landed on the scene permanently earlier this year, and they’ve certainly landed themselves here at the end of the year, which is why they’re in our Top 20.

Here’s our countdown towards WPGU’s Album of the Year:
20. Jay-Z: The Blueprint 3
19. Manchester Orchestra: Mean Everything To Nothing
18. Wolfmother: Cosmic Egg
17. The Flaming Lips: Embryonic
16. Miike Snow: Miike Snow
15. Discovery: LP
14. Silversun Pickups: Swoon
13. Julian Casablancas: Phrazes for the Young
12. Andrew Bird: Noble Beast
11. The Avett Brothers: I and Love and You
10. Japandroids: Post-Nothing
#9 coming Tuesday…stay tuned!

Leave a Reply