#13 – Julian Casablancas: Phrazes for the Young

Fans of The Strokes around the world have been kept waiting for a new release from the band since their mediocre First Impressions of Earth crash landed in 2006. While they wait, they’ve been bombarded with releases from every member of the band from their own side projects. Finally we see something from the front man and honestly, it was worth the wait.
As for the signature vocals from The Strokes being present through this release, many would think that it would be the closet thing to the next Strokes album we’d get for a while. Phrazes for the Young certainly does have that sound we all know and love from the Strokes front man, but it delivers something we haven’t seen before. The album features more of an electronic and dancy feel than most would’ve expected. The lead single “11th Dimension” features a synth-pop keyboard intro and other unfamiliar sounds and textures behind Casablancas’ dark and ominous croon.
Other highlights from the album include “Glass” which features Casablancas hitting notes that no one could’ve ever expected, as well as “Left & Right In The Dark” and “Tourist” closing things out. Although we still have to wait until next year for a new Strokes release, this one will be more than enough to hold us over.

Here’s our countdown towards WPGU’s Album of the Year:
20. Jay-Z: The Blueprint 3
19. Manchester Orchestra: Mean Everything To Nothing
18. Wolfmother: Cosmic Egg
17. The Flaming Lips: Embryonic
16. Miike Snow: Miike Snow
15. Discovery: LP
14. Silversun Pickups: Swoon
13. Julian Casablancas: Phrazes for the Young
#12 coming Thursday…stay tuned!

Leave a Reply