sound ground #111

As reported last week, Anomic releases its debut EP tonight at Cowboy Monkey. Show time is 10 p.m. and cover is $4. Docile Entropy spans seven songs. It was recorded and mixed at Pogo Studio in Champaign, and mastered at West West Side Music in Tenafly, New Jersey. Anomic is: guitarist-vocalist Junior Zavala, drummer Anthony Maro, bassist Andy Smith, and guitarist Elliot Schunke.

The Anomic release show doubles as a Machines That Think release show; both are progressive-rock bands. Red in Tooth and Claw, the Machines That Think debut, is a ten-track album that began as an EP with the title To Lose Control. With the name change in October 2005 came four more songs: “Clear Blue,” “The Catharsis,” “Awake,” and “Where’d Your Imagination Go?” Machines That Think is: guitarist Bryan Luczkiw, guitarist Josh Kalvelage, bassist Chip Kohr, drummer Nick Lorenz, and vocalist Pranay Patel.

Also tonight, Ryan Groff of Elsinore and Ben Bradford perform for Acoustic @ Arìma.

Show time is 8p.m., and admission is free. At The Highdive, five local acts square off for Battlerusa 2006: Wakarusa Battle of the Bands. Show time is 8 p.m., and cover is $5. Jon Justice Band is first at 8:30 p.m., followed by Lorenzo Goetz, KrÅkid, Probably Vampires, and Shipwreck. Another winner will be named tonight to play at Wakarusa Music & Camping Festival. Winners through Jan. 26 are: Prism-Fort Collins, CO; Mama’s Cookin’-Denver, CO; Electric Soul Method-Omaha, NE; Loco Macheen & The DeWayn Brothers Bluegrass Band-Manhattan, KS; Eckobase-Fayetteville, AR; My Tea Kind-Tulsa, OK; and Brass n’ Grass-Lawrence, KS.

Another music competition commences Tuesday at The Canopy Club. Any amateur can come in from 9 p.m. to midnight and sign up to sing with Live Karaoke Band (ex-The Cheezy Trio) for U of Idol. Feb. 21, 28 and March 7, ten apiece will compete, and on March 14 fifteen finalists will return for the grand prize: a cruise of the Bahamas for four. Vocal ability, entertainment value, stage presence, and personality are the contest criteria and winners will be determined by audience response and judges’ scoring.

After insisting in December that, “No, we’re not broken up,” Normal garage trio The Locked Sound is in fact broken up. The farewell show was Jan. 27 at Paulie’s in Bloomington with The Resinators and Demolition Derby. Bassist John Gaetano continues in Animal Party, while guitarist-vocalist Scott Walus and drummer Jason Potter are available. The Locked Sound was perhaps the only East Central Illinois band to compare its sound to Zachary Thaks and furthermore had performed with Dead Moon.

Todd J. Hunter hosts WEFT Sessions and Champaign Local 901, two hours of local music every Monday at 10 p.m on WEFT 90.1 FM. Send news to [email protected]. Support your scene to preserve your scene.

Leave a Reply