Soundground #129

At last, a real update on the new Salaryman album: the title no longer is Salaryman 3, but instead The Electric Forest. It appears on Twelve Inch Records and has ten tracks, of which “Portwine Road” is available at for free download. Also at soon will be “an online interface that will allow you to remix songs from The Electric Forest.” Although its official release date is July 25, it will be available direct from Salaryman and Parasol June 27.

On May 23 Angie Heaton and the Gentle Tamers checked into Pogo Studio to record their first album together, which Heaton describes as “very country.” The Gentle Tamers are: Josh Quirk on drums, Josh Walden on bass and Bob Watson on guitar and pedal steel. Ryan Groff of elsinore provided vocal back-up on two songs. June 3 at The Iron Post, Heaton performed 10 songs solo, five from the album: “Heaven’s State Line,” “I Was Thinkin’ About You,” “Blue Sky Day,” “Lucky in Love” and “Train Song.”

Also June 3 at The Iron Post, as a surprise, Triple Whip provided drum-and-bass back-up for Rob McColley & The Heather on five soon-to-be-released songs. Across the pond, the July 2006 issue of British music magazine Rhythm reviews Triple Whip kung fu concept EP Snake Creeps Down and includes a song from it, “Show,” on the compilation album attached. Triple Whip plays again tonight at Brass Rail with Water Between Continents, the other local instrumental art-rock duo, and Scurvine, the vocal rock trio with the hit single “Some of the Time” on WPGU 107.1 FM. At Brass Rail, Triple Whip will debut the tunes “Where’s the Line?” and “Secrets.” Show time is 10 p.m., and cover is $5.

Early tonight, Acoustic @ Aroma hosts Kip and Rachel Braunstadter of Cameo Turret and Kayla Brown. Show time is 8 p.m., and admission is free.

Independent Media Center has a big weekend ahead. Friday, New Ruins plays with Imaginary Numbers (Chandler, Arizona) and Kid Icarus (Kailua-Kona, Hawai’i). Show time is 8 p.m., and cover is $4. Then Saturday, aboard for an all-day party are: Bellcaster, Johnnyork, The Hemingway Method, Mit’n, The Beauty Shop, Breaksynapse, Autumn Blue, Eight Fingers Down, Coco Coca, 2*Sweet, Fireworks and Squared Off. Show time is 4 p.m., and cover is $5.

Also Saturday, elsinore and Theory of Everything split a bill in the beer garden at Mike ‘n Molly’s. Show time is 10 p.m.

For June and July, Noah Harris has a summer concert series at The Iron Post. Every Thursday at 10 p.m., he and another acoustic act perform, except tonight when Ryan Groff does double duty. Coming attractions are: Bailey, Steve Ucherek of The Living Blue, Shipwreck and Cameron McGill. Cover tonight for Ryan Groff is $3.

Todd J. Hunter hosts WEFT Sessions and Champaign Local 901, two hours of local music every Monday at 10 p.m. on WEFT 90.1 FM. Send news to Support your scene to preserve your scene.

Leave a Reply