#16 – Miike Snow: Miike Snow

Swedish indie pop band Miike Snow isn’t just one person as some might seem. But what’s with the 2 I’s? That’s a whole other conversation.
Their debut self-titled album was released to critical acclaim after much build up and anticipation behind the project’s lead single “Animal”. The release brought about comparisons to some of the best indie pop bands on this side of the pond, including Brooklyn’s Animal Collective mixed with the catchiness of Passion Pit.
Their first release debuted off of Downtown records in October and has caught on like wildfire in the United States. Featuring tracks “Song for No One”, which features one of the catchiest guitar pop riffs of the year, and second single “Black and Blue” with electro-pop mixed with piano to accompany lead singer Andrew Wyatt’s vocals. From top to bottom the album completes the ideal indie pop record with a few catchy singles but defining their sound throughout, which makes it a solid choice for our top albums of the year.

Here’s our countdown towards WPGU’s Album of the Year:
20. Jay-Z: The Blueprint 3
19. Manchester Orchestra: Mean Everything To Nothing
18. Wolfmother: Cosmic Egg
17. The Flaming Lips: Embryonic
16. Miike Snow: Miike Snow
15 through 10 coming next week! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply